Garden Update – 18 June 2014

So our garden is doing pretty well.  We’ve had a hot dry spell the past week or two, so I’ve had to go out and water the garden myself.  One of my friends has already found 90% of his garden dead and wilted because he never thought to water it himself.  The green beans are almost ready to be picked, they just need to fatten up a little.  Peas are getting there, although a couple of them look wilted.  I thought maybe they had just dried out from being uprooted from some excessive rain we had a few weeks ago, so I piled some fresh dirt around them and watered them, and although they haven’t died, they haven’t recovered, so I’m starting to think maybe they have caught something.

Here’s some sunflowers I planted next to the walk-way up to our porch.  There was 4 of them, but one of the dogs dug one up and despite re-planting within 10 minutes and watering with fertilizer, it has died, so I put up the lattice work to discourage them from running through them and to give myself something to tie them to when they get big.  Last year we had sunflowers that got 10+ feet tall with heads on them that had to weigh in the neighborhood of 20 pounds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s our green beans.  They were doing a lot better than I thought they were.  I’ve been focusing mainly on just watering and weeding them and keeping the dirt loosened, but hadn’t taken the time to pull the leaves back and look under them lately.  I was actually kind of surprised that we already had beans.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s our peas.  One or two of the vines appear to have caught some kind of disease I think.  They are growing, but appear wilted.  At first I assumed it was from having lots of grass around them in the first few weeks until I got them weeded, and then the rain kind of uncovered their roots a bit, so I hilled up some fresh dirt and watered them through this dry spell and although they haven’t died outright, one or two of the vines are still yellow.  I’m considering just pulling those up tomorrow in case it’s some kind of a blight or something that the other vines might catch.  Most of them though look nice and healthy and are getting some nice fat pea pods already.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m about 80% sure it’s too late in the year to plant pumpkins, but we had just a handful of seeds, and I had never planted them, so I figured what the heck.  There was some space in the garden at the end of two or 3 rows where we had planted peppers and a few other things that didn’t take.  Since we had a couple spots where there was a nice wide open spot, I just hoed up two nice big hills and planted some pumpkins about an inch down.  According to the planting instructions on the packet, we could plant these all the way up until the 1st of July, just depending on when the weather decides to dip down and get cold.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Call me weird, but I love the smell of Marigolds, and I’ve been told that they will help keep insects away.  I started this one in a small flower pot and then just transplanted it into the garden.  I planted this one next to 4 or 5 tomato plants and there were no pests on those tomato plants.  The tater bugs are about to eat some of my potato plants up though, I’m going to have to get some more bug dust for them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Overall I’m pretty happy with our garden this year.  There’s talk that agriculture might be the economic replacement for coal in eastern Kentucky, and seeing as how things appear to be working out for me, I’m going to do some research.  There’s a program where the state will give you the seeds, send you to training on how to can/preserve your vegetables, and they’ll even plow up your land for you.  If I can get involved with that, it might actually turn out to be a sustainable source of income doing something I enjoy, 🙂

This is my 2nd year really trying to have a garden.  Year 1 was a learning experience, and things seem to be working out this year.  It’s odd, but my family is full of people who grew up gardening, but as a young boy we didn’t really do much gardening, so I’m having to learn things that a lot of people already know.  Here’s the whole thing at a glance, 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About gerowen

I’m just a man. I’m probably the strangest combination of a person you’ll ever meet. I’m a country boy, and live in the woods of eastern Kentucky. I’m a combat veteran of the Iraq war and received an honorable discharge from active duty with the US Army. I’m a son, brother, husband, and a father. I take great pride in providing for my family and myself, and being as self sufficient as reasonably possible. I believe if you can do something yourself, if you can earn something by working for it, then you appreciate it more. I’m a staunch defender of the 2nd amendment and believe in individual liberty and responsibility. I love the outdoors; hunting, fishing, and hiking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garden Update – 18 June 2014

  1. I never give up on a plant unless it keels over dead.. 🙂 We planted a row of Peas and some insects nibbled away the tops of the newly formed shoots…. We planted another couple of rows and hubby was about to pull them out.. I said no lets wait, they may make something… They did and thrived… Yes drought can make them go yellow… The good thing about Gardening today is that we also have the internet at our fingertips.. I am always tapping in what ails our plants and finding out things …

    I think your garden is coming along great, and its not until you start growing your own that you realise lots of things you pick up and learn along the way… My Dad and Granddad both had allotments, but I only messed around in them learning Veggies from weeds mainly 🙂 Its great Fun even though hard work.. And very rewarding when you get to eat and freeze your produce that lasts you over winter.. We got over 10 sacks of potatoes last year.. we were able to supply my Family with various fruit and veg…

    Watering by hand is hard going too.. We go twice a day, water beans, Peas, tomatoes, .. We let the established ones root down for water more… But the young newly transplanted we keep watered well…. But then we here in the UK have more than our fair share of rain fall… 🙂

    Great Pictures and thank you for sharing the update..
    Sue

  2. Wishing you and your family.. a Happy Thanksgiving..

Leave a Reply

