Packing for Camping

Packing for Camping

Getting everything packed up for my camping/hiking/mushroom hunting/exploring trip tomorrow, and thought I would show off some of the modifications I’ve made to the AR for an overnight stay in the woods. Family and friends have seen a lot of new predators moving into the area in recent years that didn’t used to be here. The local game officials killed off one herd of wild hogs, but I’ve seen signs of another group. People have seen mountain lions moving in and out of the area, and even had their dogs killed by it. I figure my AR-15 is the perfect outdoor survival rifle for this area. Because of the hills and the forest on our property, very rarely does a shot ever present itself at more than 200 yards, and even at that distance it’s not really an immediate threat, so I went with a 16″ barrel instead of the full 20″. It’s small and light enough to carry around all day without much issue, and the round is powerful enough to kill the things I’m worried about, but not so powerful that it knocks me down, so if I’m in danger and I miss with the first round I can continue firing until the threat is neutralized without tearing my shoulder to pieces. The rifle itself is a Windham Weaponry HBC model AR-15. I added rails to the fore-end in place of the regular A-2 style hand guards, added a foregrip, a light that’s bright enough for me to see down the iron sights in the dark (I prefer iron sights), and a plastic muzzle cap to prevent any rain from falling down into the barrel. The rails I bought at a gun store in Washington state, I don’t even remember the brand, but the top rail comes all the way back and makes contact with the rails under the carrying handle, so if I ever add optics to the top I don’t have to worry about there being a gap between the front and rear rails. The fore-grip I used on my M249 in Iraq and just brought it home with me. The light was actually given to me by my uncle and came with his airsoft kit, but it just so happens that it fits on a set of real picatinny rails as well as just the airsoft gun, and to run on only 3 AAA batteries it’s actually pretty bright. The magazine is a standard capacity Magpul PMAG.

About gerowen

I’m just a man. I’m probably the strangest combination of a person you’ll ever meet. I’m a country boy, and live in the woods of eastern Kentucky. I’m a combat veteran of the Iraq war and received an honorable discharge from active duty with the US Army. I’m a son, brother, husband, and a father. I take great pride in providing for my family and myself, and being as self sufficient as reasonably possible. I believe if you can do something yourself, if you can earn something by working for it, then you appreciate it more. I’m a staunch defender of the 2nd amendment and believe in individual liberty and responsibility. I love the outdoors; hunting, fishing, and hiking.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Packing for Camping

  1. Enjoy your camping trip and I hope you do not have to use the rifle..

Leave a Reply

