Hit My First Deer

So earlier this evening, about 8 PM eastern time, I was driving to town to check the mail in our post office box.  As I was driving down the road I was going about 35-40 mph and a small cat ran across the road in front of me.  I tapped the brakes to give the cat a chance to get across the road.  He jumped into a thicket on the right side of the road that came right up to the side of the road.  As soon as the cat disappeared into the thicket, it must have scared a deer because a deer jumped right in front of me.

I saw a piece of plastic go bouncing over my windshield, but the car “felt” fine.  There were no mechanical problems, so I drove to the nearest driveway and turned around.  My intent was to shoot the deer since I hit it in the head, neck and shoulders, and assumed the injury would be near fatal, and I didn’t want it suffering in a ditch.  As I walked around the car, I realized the damage was a bit more extensive than it felt immediately after the impact.  I walked up and down the road with a lantern and didn’t see any signs of blood, or of the deer, so I guess it just shook it off and ran away.

This is the first time I’ve ever actually hit a deer.  I see them all over, but I’m usually pretty good at avoiding them.  This one just appeared, and did it so fast that I didn’t have time to react.  I wasn’t scared or anything, in fact my first thought was just, “Ummm, OK, that just happened.”  Anyway, just thought I’d share, 🙂

Image

About Gerowen

I’m just a man. I’m probably the strangest combination of a person you’ll ever meet. I’m a country boy, and live in the woods of eastern Kentucky. I’m a veteran of the Iraq war and received an honorable discharge from active duty with the US Army. I’m a son, brother, husband, and a father. I take great pride in providing for my family and myself, and being as self sufficient as reasonably possible. I believe if you can do something yourself, if you can earn something by working for it, then you appreciate it more. I’m a staunch defender of the 2nd amendment and believe in individual liberty and responsibility. I love the outdoors; hunting, fishing, and hiking. I am also a tech nerd. When I was in the Army I was a 25B, which is basically a computer nerd in camo. I enjoy video games, building and working on PCs, CB radios and all things technological. I'm primarily a PC gamer on Steam, Origin, etc. I enjoy role playing games and SOME first person shooters such as Battlefield 1 and occasionally Overwatch. Generally speaking I like playing alone, or if I'm online, it's usually some sort of role playing game.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hit My First Deer

  1. Glad you were ok and the deer looks to have got away bruised but Ouch to your car!

Leave a Reply

